Hello autumn!

22Sep09

One thing I really like about living in England is that there actually are 4 seasons. Where I come from, we have 2: dry and slightly cooler or wet and insanely hot, the cool one being what we call winter, when people will put on their coats and scarves and gloves if the mercury hits anything below 18 degrees. It’s not that we don’t have flowers in spring and leaves falling from trees in autumn, we do, but you don’t notice how much the sun changes over the year. Ok, I know it’s the Earth that moves but you know what I mean.

I don’t know if people who have lived here all their lives realise this, how much the position of the sun in the sky varies over the course of 6 months – from one solstice to the next.  I did, but even so I was amazed when I  saw these photos, recorded with a pinhole camera over the course of 6 months – the lowest line being the winter solstice and the highest the summer one. They were made by photographer Justin Quinnel and remind me of the one thing I hate about autumn: the days just get shorter and shorter and shorter.

Meanwhile, in workland, I’m trying to come up with something special for Xmas. Coming soon to this blog and my website. 🙂

2 Responses to “Hello autumn!”

  1. 1 Catherine Osborn

    That’s an amazing photo, it looks like something Van Gogh might have painted! I knew the sun got lower in the sky in the winter – trying to drive on a sunny morning in winter can be a nightmare – but I didn’t realise how much.

    I love the changing of the seasons, it doesn’t matter whether it’s spring, summer, autumn or winter, I always look forward to the season that’s coming next. I guess that means I’m always happy 🙂

    C x

  2. I just found something on the “autumn” storm. It is interesting how some journalists use the technical sense of “autumn”…meaning until Dec 21st. http://deligentia.wordpress.com/2009/12/21/autumn-snow-storm-in-mid-december-in-nyc/



